SOB’s Grins & Grumps

Everything Between Heaven and Earth and Beyond

  • Copyrights, Feeds and Contact

  • January 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Dec   Mar »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Visitors Count

    • 64,458 hits
  • Categories

  • Meta

OTM of Being Human

Posted by Henric C. Jensen on January 6, 2010


“You don’t get harmony when everybody sings the same note.”
Doug Floyd

I participated in a discussion about ‘What is Our True Nature?’

In one post I wrote:

My question [What if we ARE awake but believe that we are asleep?] comes from all the ‘high-flying spiritual stuff’ that we pander to each other in our attempts to figure out what is often – to my mind at least – either inexplicable or for lack of better word, redundant.

We chase enlightenment, awakening, salvation, tzaddikheit, as if it’s the holy grail, at the beckoning of others who somehow manage to convince us that we are all asleep and need what ever ‘cure’ they have for that.

But can humanness be ‘cured’? Is it supposed to be cured?

One of my favorite Rabbi Sayings goes: When I get to heaven, they will not ask me why I was not Moses, but why I was not Zuzya.” (Rabbi Zuzya of Hanipoli)

…perhaps “Our True Nature” doesn’t exist, all that is is Your True Nature and My True Nature, and the point is to honor that and live it the best each of us can?

I am Unique. G-d Created me in Their Image, and I will worship Him as I see fit. I will seek Her in my way and play my Music my way. You pander your solutions to me, proffering your nuggets of lead at me, claiming they are gold – but they are stones to me, they do not come from my claim, that G-d gave me on the Day I was born, the Day She whispered my Name and said: You are Mine!

What if we do not have to chase anything, what if all our cures for Humanness are nothing but chaff and ash, and all there is is the Whisper: You are Mine and the answer is a simple: "Yes!"?

Leave a Reply

 
