SOB’s Grins & Grumps

Everything Between Heaven and Earth and Beyond

  • Copyrights, Feeds and Contact

  • March 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Feb   Apr »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Visitors Count

    • 64,361 hits
  • Categories

  • Meta

Will the True Left leave Obama?

Posted by Henric C. Jensen on March 23, 2008


“What always comes into my mind when in this context is how my father would bully me, berate me and beat me and then insist I was not to cry, not to resent, and then he’d hit me again. — because I cried OR because I did not cry.I felt such identification with what was being presented [by Reverend Wright] that I never felt the object of it. As well, the people all around me didn’t act as if I were the object either. Nor was this by any means the entire service. The service, the address, the sermon rolled, it really rolled, from abject hell to the sublimity of paradise. And I was caught on the wave.”
This is what I sense also, when watching the entire sermons by Reverend Jeremiah Wright. An identification. Not based on color but on similar experiences of oppression and abuse. I somehow cannot stop myself from thinking that all the bruhaha around the clips presented by the Right-Wing Media, is more based in that the arrow Rev. Wright is aiming at them hit home, and hit home really hard. So they try and divert attention from what is he saying and why, so they won’t be implicated in any way. Instead they implicate Rev. Wright and Barack Obama, i.e their victims. The question is, will the true Left buy this and withdraw their support from Barack? In that case the Right and their Minions [Hillary Clinton] will have won. That should be reason enough to vote Barack Obama into the White House.
3 Responses to “Will the True Left leave Obama?”

  1. Pete said

    No, I have left Obama because I can’t trust him. His words say one thing. His actions another. I have to trust and believe in a presidential candidate and I don’t trust Obama anymore.

    Like

  2. Dale Husband said

    Well, Pete, who DO you trust? It’s interesting that you do not say. Edwards chickened out, and Hilary strikes me as part of the Old Guard of Washington D. C. With all the fighting between Obama and Hilary, it seems like McCain is almost certain to win this election in the end.

    How I HATE American politics!

    Like

  3. Pete said

    I believe you are right. This chasm and bitterness in the democratic party has only benefited McCain. And the more it lingers, I can’t see a way to bring the democratic party together.

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
