SOB’s Grins & Grumps

Everything Between Heaven and Earth and Beyond

  • Copyrights, Feeds and Contact

  • October 2007
    S M T W T F S
    « Sep   Nov »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Visitors Count

    • 64,361 hits
  • Categories

  • Meta

“All this is mine – now get lost” (literally).

Posted by Henric C. Jensen on October 5, 2007


My friend Yael wrote:

 

But to the wicked, God said, ‘To what purpose do you recount My decrees and bear My covenant upon your lips?’ For you hate discipline and you threw My words behind you….These have you done and I kept silent, You thought that I was like you – I will rebuke you and lay it clearly before your eyes…..He who offers confession, honors Me; and one who orders his way, I will show him the salvation of God.

Let’s do a modern take on this passage:

But to those who say My Torah has been ‘fulfilled’, God said, ‘To what purpose do you claim to know my decrees? What’s this new covenant on your lips? Give me a break. You hate the discipline of following Torah and claim it’s all been done away with in the past. You did this and because I didn’t knock you up side the head you thought I was cool with what you were doing. Not hardly. Why don’t you go back and read Torah again without all your preconceived ideas of what it says? All I require is confession from your mouth and following mitzvot. All who do this will be shown My salvation [which is NOT your version of it!].

One thing more than anything annoys me with most, if not all Xians. How they claim to know better than us Jews what Torah means. How they claim some sort of interpretational ownership of OUR Holy Scriptures. It’s so arrogant, and condescending. Like some distant second cousin they come and lay claim to the Jewish Birth Right, that without even offering a bowl of lentel soup for it. They just step into OUR house and says: “All this is mine – now get lost” (literally).

Then it turns out they don’t want it, they just want bits and pieces here and there, that they fancy to be true, the rest they just flush down the toilet, like so much crap. They don’t care about Shabbat, or Family Purity, or about Kashrut, they just want what is “comfortable” and that fits with their Greek religion.

I don’t know how many times I have argued with Xians over Isaiah 7 – how that is not some messianic prophecy, how it’s a prophecy for a specific Israeli King at a specific time, and how the words in Hebrew don’t even match their interpretation, and how that specific prophecy was actually fullfilled in the time it was given, but no, I am Jewish, so I am blind, I can’t see straight, I, in my evil Jewish heart (if I have one) am so corrupted by my denial of their truth, that I, and all my ancestors, must have mis-read, mis-understood and must be so evil that I am deliberately spreading lies, because that is in my nature as a Jew.

Now, I do know a lot of Xians who don’t see it this way, who are respectfully trying to learn and accept the Jewish interpretation of the Tanakh, and even live by it – I can respect that – but the rest – Pffft.

2 Responses to ““All this is mine – now get lost” (literally).”

  1. I think the problem with talking to them is we always let them set the agenda. Why do we have to answer to them? Why don’t we take control and let them respond to the things that make no sense to us? (Where would we start? LOL) Why do we always have to talk about Isaiah and sacrifices?

    I’d rather hear why they think they can so trust in a God who ‘blessed’ a people by giving them a ‘curse’? How does that even make sense? What kind of a God would do that? How do they know their ‘blessing’ isn’t also a ‘curse’? What makes them so sure of themselves? Aside from the voices in the head and that ‘changed life’ which looks no different than any other life?

    Like

  2. Not that I’m interested in arguing with them at all….

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
