SOB’s Grins & Grumps

Everything Between Heaven and Earth and Beyond

  • Copyrights, Feeds and Contact

  • July 2007
    S M T W T F S
    « Jun   Aug »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Visitors Count

    • 64,358 hits
  • Categories

  • Meta

Jude, Kike…

Posted by Henric C. Jensen on July 14, 2007


Jude

The words don’t bother me – the association does – the past experiences of violence – the times I’ve had to flee from gangs of young men screaming, yelling that word, threatening to beat me, rape my wife and kill my dog…that’s what ran through my mind today as I heard yet another throng of young adults yell that word “Jude” as I went to the yard with my dog and wife.

And I know that they are taught this at home, in the church, in the youth club…just a few weeks ago a middle aged man yelled that after me when I tried to cross the street out-side my house and happened to get in the way of his car (in a place where cars HAVE to give way to pedestrians) and threatened to kill me next time he sees me.

No, the words don’t bother me – but the threats inherent behind them do.

Leave a Reply

 
