SOB’s Grins & Grumps

Everything Between Heaven and Earth and Beyond

  • Copyrights, Feeds and Contact

  • June 2007
    S M T W T F S
    « May   Jul »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
  • Visitors Count

    • 64,358 hits
  • Categories

  • Meta

How to Manipulate and Confuse People…

Posted by Henric C. Jensen on June 25, 2007


into doing your dirty work.

  1. find a really juicy piece of gossip, “news”, and/or blog entry – look anywhere in the Net if you have to.
  2. find a discussion forum post that attempts to make a point through exaggerated violent and threatening language in which the author explains that the exaggeration is for illustration purposes only, and not intended to be anything else.
  3. find the biggest picture of the Blog Entry Author and use that as an illustration for a news post on a News Story about the two items you found in step 1 and 2 – make sure you post in Trebuchet 8pt, so it’s hard to read.
  4. send out email messages to all your friends and their friends in a site that has more than 6 million members telling them how the Blog Author and the Exaggerator is threatening their personal security. Make sure that you have your Martyr Cap on, so people will forget to separate the two issues from each other out of sympathy for you and your closest friend.
  5. conveniently edit out the explanation from the Exaggerator’s comment when you speak about it – so people get the impression that there really was a genuine threat expressed.
  6. as people gather to eat from your hand use the Chicken Little approach and fuel their fears.
  7. Used expressions such as “these people”, “gang”, “thugs” etc, so it seems that you’re speaking of MANY, and not just #1 and #2.
  8. This is guaranteed to make all who see your news so confused that they will note it or digg it out of pure misunderstanding.
  9. mix in large amounts of garbled conspiracy theories. Sit back and watch the chaos evolve and character assassinations run their course.
6 Responses to “How to Manipulate and Confuse People…”

  1. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! Cubby, you totally crack me up! *hug*

    Like

  2. Silly Old Bear said

    🙂 Glad I can make you laugh

    Like

  3. robot370 said

    xD!

    Like

  4. Madartist said

    Silly Old Bear….OMG truth and consequences..cause and effect…THE BIG BANG THEORY…Is there really intelligent life here? Scotty doesn’t think so…
    I knew I liked you when I met ya and now I am sure!!! You are one cool dude… Now , NOBODY read me the wrong way..I am Mad in a good way!!!!

    Like

  5. Shari said

    Cubby, my friend thank-you for keeping me sane during the rough times in my life. And also thank-you for making me an even more tolerant person than I thought I was.

    I love you my friend

    *hug*s
    Shari

    Like

  6. Silly Old Bear said

    MadArtist, Shari – you are both beautiful people – I love you!

    MadArtist – I am glad yo came here read and that you approve 🙂

    Hugs,
    SOB

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
