SOB’s Grins & Grumps

Everything Between Heaven and Earth and Beyond

  • Copyrights, Feeds and Contact

  • May 2006
    S M T W T F S
        Jun »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Visitors Count

    • 64,255 hits
  • Categories

  • Meta

Congratulations, you just killed…

Posted by Henric C. Jensen on May 22, 2006


Beethoven….a friend of mine just posted a blog on the Topic of child abuse, arranged marriages and how we as a civilized society should deal with the same…and while I understand exactly how she feels as I am from an abusive family myself, and all that – it is a fact that if my parents had been prevented from having children I would not exist. And if my parents hadn’t been abusive I would not be the person I am today.

“I mean come on, we have medical tests which will tell us the sex of the unborn baby; whether that unborn baby has a serious medical condition that requires immediate medical intervention. Why are there no policies in place for spotting people who might be dangerous as parents. We owe it to ourselves and the generations that follow to find this cure for abuse and nip it in the bud.”

Yeah, it would very nice if we could look into the future, either through tests or through some psychic method, and see exactly what kind of people babies are going to turn into, so that we could prevent abuse, murder, violence and other horrors. But it wouldn’t be ethical.

My parents had a Free Will – they could make a choice to abuse or not to abuse. They chose to abuse – and I suffered as a result of that. But it also brought me some blessings I would not have gained had my parents not abused me. Compassion – I have the ability to feel and show compassion. Emotional Intelligence – I am highly sensitive and intuitive when it comes to feelings and the finer points of social interaction. On top of all my other skills, such as verbal expression through writing an speaking, I have a passion and a ‘no-nonsense’ attitude towards issues of bullying, child abuse, human rights and Justice, that makes me a good advocate on those issues.

I doubt I would have had that passion or that no-nonsense attitude if I had not been born.

For every step we take towards using our knowledge to curb Free Will, we also take a step towards a society where in the end only those who have curbed everybody else have any Free Will, and I really don’t think that is a Society we want. I think it is a good thing that we cannot detect child abusers, rapists, murderers and war criminals through genetic tests, because if we erraddicate those people, we might end up erraddicating a future Beethoven or Einstein.

Shalom!

2 Responses to “Congratulations, you just killed…”

  1. Holly said

    The way I look at the whole abuse issue, right now, is that without going through what I went through, I wouldn’t have learned important life lessons about compassion and courage. On a fundamental level, had my parents been denied the right to have children, I would not have been born, either.

    For every step we take towards using our knowledge to curb Free Will, we also take a step towards a society where in the end only those who have curbed everybody else have any Free Will…

    Exactly. And if we tried, we would, in effect, be attempting to play God by determining – according to our own beliefs and opinions – who gets to have children and who doesn’t.

    We are imperfect human beings, and because we are imperfect, we always run the risk of being wrong. And I’m sure we all know what can happen when a doctor mis-diagnoses something…

    Like

  2. Dov Aryeh said

    Thank you, Holly, I think you echo my sentiment very well 🙂 You analogy to us playing G-d is a really good one. Something we can f.i see the result of in cultures where having female children is considered either shameful or just a ‘mishap’ and where pre-natal testing take place to abort pregnancies where the child is female.

    Somthing that in China f.i have resulted in there being a very large and clear deficit in girl-children born and mature females eligible for marriage. The interresting thing is that the natural order (i.e how mit would be without our interference) of things is that there is always a surplus of females…but in China the numbers are reversed.

    Dov

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
