SOB’s Grins & Grumps

Everything Between Heaven and Earth and Beyond

  • Copyrights, Feeds and Contact

  • July 2007
    S M T W T F S
    « Jun   Aug »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Visitors Count

    • 61,763 hits
  • Categories

  • Meta

Fundamentalism

Posted by Henric C. Jensen on July 4, 2007


All fundamentalism is Religious in nature. The MO of Fundamentalism is the same regardless of whether it is Evangelical or Marxist-Atheist. Both approach the world from the position of “I am right everybody else are wrong!”

“Please don’t ask me to read your holy book with an open mind. I can describe my mind as open, but not so open that my common sense fails me. Don’t you see? There’s a fundamental flaw with this request, and it’s staring you right in the eyes. There’s a huge elephant in the room, and yet you close your eyes to it! This is the assumption that a holy book can somehow validate itself.” Don’t ask me to read your holy books.

Fundamentalism of any flavor is based in the assumption that it is The Truth on the given subject. It doesn’t matter if you ask me to read the Greek Scriptures or Noam Chomsky…both will in the end turn out to be an attempt to prove themselves through themselves.

I am fully prepared to discuss the merits of just about any “Holy” Book or Doctrine but don’t tell me that I would change my mind if only I read it, because chances are that I already have and to suggest that I haven’t is both presumptious and arrogant.

One of the things I have done is question my own positions again and again. I actually do that more than any Fundamentalist, any flavor, I have met in real life or on line. Fundamentalism in itself is a negation of open-mindedness, because the very idea od fundamentalism is static, and an open mind is never static.

So I have read Marx, Chomsky, Finkelstein, the Greek Scriptures, the Koran and then some more – and sure they have all helped shape my thinking and my views on things, but nowhere in any of them have I found an Absolute that cannot be questioned.

Circular arguments are fun – it’s like watching a dog chase its own tail – round, round, round in endless motion,

and while it is amusing to watch for a few minutes, especially when you realize that it only takes a little poking to get the dog going again…, it becomes kind of boring after a while – just try it out, and see how fun you think that video is after you have watched it 10 times…

Most entertaining is the Fundamentalism of Atheists. Fundamentalist Atheists are most often VERY religious about their non-belief – even to a point where they will use books they do not believe in to prove their point!

2 Responses to “Fundamentalism”

  1. [...] all comments regarding Simen were complimentary, Silly Old Bear gave us a “grump” on Fundamentalism in which I believe he was implying that Simen is a “Fundamentalist Atheist.” mvdg, in [...]

    Like

  2. [...] Jul 29th, 2007 by Silly Old Bear My first take is here: Fundamentalism [...]

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

