SOB’s Grins & Grumps

Everything Between Heaven and Earth and Beyond

  • Copyrights, Feeds and Contact

  • June 2007
    S M T W T F S
    « May   Jul »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
  • Visitors Count

    • 61,995 hits
  • Categories

  • Meta

I want what I want and I want it now!

Posted by Henric C. Jensen on June 17, 2007


At the base of our Torah and our Jewish psyche lies an incessant urgency. Not just a sense that things are not the way they should be, but a relentless yearning that things should heal this very moment. Relentless, because it refuses to decay with time or to fade with disappointment. In the morning, we make our plea as though unable to tolerate another moment. And as evening comes, we demand again as though morning never passed. We live on the verge of eternity. May we arrive now.

Patience has never been my strong suit – I usually finish those “build it yourself” thingies in no time simply because I cannot wait to see what it looks like – needless to say I loose half the screws, misplace the smart little tools they come with and end up with a pile of mismatched pieces of lumber not even my dog wants to piss on…I am like instant coffee – now, and preferably without having to boil the water first. When I was a student (long time ago) I used to drink my coffee using tepid tap water, because I was either to lazy to go out into the kitchen and do it properly or I couldn’t be bothered to wait for the water to heat…

For some reason it doesn’t seem to change with age – I still want to arrive NOW.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

